[skip to content]

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Key Dates - Term Dates

The academic year at SOAS consists of three terms, the first two roughly 11 weeks long and the third usually eight weeks in length. The autumn and spring terms include a reading week.

Opening Hours

The School buildings are open from 8.15 am to 9.30 pm Monday to Friday and 8.15 am to 5.00 pm on Saturdays (after 1 pm for staff and students only). The School is closed on Sundays.

The Library ​may be open during School closure days. Please see the Library opening times for more information.

School Terms 2013/2014

First Term (Autumn Term)

Term Dates: Monday 23 September 2013 – Friday 13 December 2013
Teaching begins: Monday 30 September 2013
Reading Week: Monday 4 – Friday 8 November 2013

Second Term (Spring Term)

Term Dates: Monday 6 January 2014 – Friday 21 March 2014
Reading Week: Monday 10 – Friday 14 February 2014

Third Term (Summer Term)

Term Dates: Tuesday 22 April 2014 – Friday 13 June 2014

Examination Period 2013/2014

Examination period: Thursday 8 May – Wednesday 4 June 2014
Summer resits: (for eligible Year 1 undergraduates only) Thursday 28 August – Wednesday 3 September 2014

Other Important Dates 2013/2014

Graduation: Tuesday 29 July- Thursday 31 July 2014

Dates of Closure 2013/2014

The School will be closed from 4.00pm on Friday 20 December 2013 and will reopen on Thursday 2 January 2014.
For the period Maundy Thursday to Easter Monday inclusive (17 April 2014 – 21 April 2014) - current members of the SOAS Library with a Library card may use the Library between 10:30 and 23:30 over Easter.
On the May Day Bank Holiday (Monday 5 May 2014) and the preceding Saturday;
On the Spring Bank Holiday (Monday 26 May 2014) and the preceding Saturday,
On the Late Summer Holiday (Monday 25 August 2014) and the preceding Saturday.

School Terms 2014/2015

First Term

Term Dates: Monday 22 September 2014 – Friday 12 December 2014
Teaching begins: Monday 29 September 2014
Reading Week: Monday 3 – Friday 7 November 2014

Second Term

Term Dates: Monday 5 January 2015 – Friday 20 March 2015
Reading Week: Monday 9 – Friday 13 February 2015

Third Term

Term Dates: Monday 20 April 2015 – Friday 12 June 2015