[skip to content]

Registry

Key Dates - Term Dates

The academic year at SOAS consists of three terms, the first two roughly 11 weeks long and the third usually eight weeks in length. The autumn and spring terms include a reading week.

Opening Hours

The School buildings are open from 8.15 am to 9.30 pm Monday to Friday and 8.15 am to 5.00 pm on Saturdays (after 1 pm for staff and students only). The School is closed on Sundays.

The Library ​may be open during School closure days. Please see the Library opening times for more information.

School Terms 2014/2015

First Term (Autumn Term)

Term Dates: Monday 22 September 2014 – Friday 12 December 2014
Teaching begins: Monday 29 September 2014
Reading Week: Monday 3 – Friday 7 November 2014

Second Term (Spring Term)

Term Dates: Monday 5 January 2015 – Friday 20 March 2015
Reading Week: Monday 9 – Friday 13 February 2015

Third Term (Summer Term)

Term Dates: Monday 20 April 2015 – Friday 12 June 2015

Examination Period 2014/2015

Examination period: Wednesday 6 May – Tuesday 2 June 2015
Summer resits: (for eligible undergraduate non-finalists only) Wednesday 26 August – Wednesday 2 September 2015

Other Important Dates 2014/2015

Graduation: Wednesday 22 July- Friday 24 July 2015 (To be confirmed)

Dates of Closure 2014/2015*

*The Library will be open during these closure periods. Details of the Library opening times.

The School will be closed from 4.00pm on Tuesday 23 December 2014 and will reopen on Monday 5 January 2015.
For the period Maundy Thursday to Easter Monday inclusive (2 April 2015 – 6 April 2015)
On the May Day Bank Holiday (Monday 4 May 2015) and the preceding Saturday;
On the Spring Bank Holiday (Monday 25 May 2015) and the preceding Saturday,
On the Late Summer Holiday (Monday 31 August 2015) and the preceding Saturday.

School Terms 2015/2016

First Term

Term Dates: Monday 21 September 2015 – Friday 11 December 2015
Teaching begins: Monday 28 September 2015
Reading Week: Monday 2 – Friday 6 November 2015

Second Term

Term Dates: Monday 4 January 2016 – Friday 18 March 2016
Reading Week: Monday 8 – Friday 12 February 2016

Third Term

Term Dates: Monday 18 April 2016 – Friday 10 June 2016