SOAS University of London

About SOAS

Principal Office Holders

The School's Principal Officers are those covered under Standing Order IX that relates to the Senior Staff Remuneration Committee. The School's Executive Board also includes the Director of Human Resources and the Director of Finance and Planning.


Baroness Valerie Amos PC, BA (Warwick) MA (Birmingham)

Pro-Director (Learning and Teaching)

Dr Deborah Johnston BA, MSc (Cantab), PhD (London)

Pro-Director (Research and Enterprise)

Professor Richard Black BA (Oxon), PhD (London), AcSS


Ms Paula Sanderson


Dr Chris Ince PhD (London)

Head of Doctoral School

Professor Nadje Al-Ali PhD (London)

Dean of Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Gurharpal Singh BSc Econ (London), MA (Warwick), PhD (London)

Dean of Faculty of Languages and Cultures

Professor Lutz Marten MA PhD (London) PGCLTHE (Open) 

Dean of Faculty of Law and Social Sciences

Professor Chris Bramall BA, MA , PhD (Cantab)