SOAS University of London

Alumni Engagement

Treasures of the SOAS Library

THIS EVENT IS ARCHIVED
Oliver Urquhart Irvine (Director, SOAS Library) and Ashley Crawford (SOAS MA Student)

Date: 7 May 2022Time: 5:00 PM

Finishes: 7 May 2022Time: 6:31 PM

Venue: Virtual Event

Type of Event: Talk

Sign up to attend this online event on our Eventbrite page

About the event

A conversation between the Chief SOAS Librarian and a current MA student on how to deploy SOAS's library resources for the Study of Asia, Africa and the Middle East.

Please join us for a unique conversation between our distinguished Chief Librarian and a current MA student as a prelude to next year’s celebrations of the 50th Anniversary of the founding of our well-loved SOAS Research Library with its unique holdings related to Asia, Africa and the Middle East. Its Special Collections include such rare finds as texts exploring Iraq’s Mesopotamian past as well as 16 botanical paintings by Richard Baron (c. 1880) from amongst the 7000 plant species he sent to the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew from Madagascar. Explore with our presenters how best to provide the widest possible access to this unique trove of library treasures.

This event is free and open to all - students, staff and the public. Please sign up on our Eventbrite page

The event will be held at 17:00 BST (UK) 09:00 PDT (US), 12:00 EDT (US)

Organiser: SOAS Alumni

Contact email: alumni@soas.ac.uk