SOAS University of London

Centre of African Studies

Contact Details

Office address

Room 421, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, Thornhaugh Street, Russell Square, London WC1H 0XG

Social media

SOAS operator

SOAS tel: (+44) (0)20 7637 2388
SOAS fax: (+44) (0)20 7436 3844


The administration of the Centre is handled by a Chairperson, elected from the Centre members, whose term of office runs for three years. The CAS office is supported by a Centre Manager. The Chairperson is assisted by a Management Committee, representative of the disciplines and institutions which constitute the Centre, that meets once a term.


Professor Fareda Banda (CAS/SOAS)

Centre Manager:

Angelica Baschiera (CAS/SOAS)

Management Committee:
  • Professor Fareda Banda (Chairman)
  • Angelica Baschiera (Secretary)
  • Professor Christopher Cramer (SOAS)
  • Mr Paul Asquith (AFFORD-UK)
  • Dr Nicholas Westcott (Director, RAS)
  • Ms Stephanie Kitchen (IAI)
  • Dr Michael Jennings (SOAS) 
  • Professor Stephen Chan (SOAS)
  • Dr Chege Githiora (SOAS)
  • Dr Marloes Janson (SOAS)
  • Professor Friederike Luepke (SOAS)
  • Dr Jorg Haunstein (SOAS)
  • Dr Emilia Onyema (SOAS)
  • Professor Mashood Baderin (SOAS)
  • Dr Lindiwe Dovey (SOAS)
  • Dr Marie Rodet (SOAS)
  • Dr Lucy Duran (SOAS)