SOAS University of London

Centre for Sustainable Finance

Centre for Sustainable Finance Members

Director:  Dr Ulrich Volz

Deputy Director: Dr Harald Heubaum

Dr Yannis Dafermos
Yannis Dafermos

Financial macroeconomics; Climate change and finance; Ecological macroeconomics; Shadow banking; Inequality.

  • Tel: +44(0) 207 898 4619
  • Email:
  • Room: 272
  • Academic Support Hours: Tuesday 1-3pm
Dr Harald Heubaum
Deputy Director
Harald Haubaum

Senior Lecturer in Global Energy and Climate Policy

  • Tel: +44 (0)20 7898 4362
  • Email:
  • Room: 4431
  • Academic Support Hours: By appointment

Ms Felicia Jackson
Felicia Jackson

Global finance, sustainability and climate change; energy and climate policy and governance; energy transition; systemic change; climate risk, financial resilience; the economics of climate change; data for climate and sustainable finance.

  • Email:
  • Room: 4433
  • Academic Support Hours: By appointment

Dr Thomas Marois
Thomas Marois

Political economist; Public banks; Development banks; Climate finance; Green transitions; Privatisation; Alternative development

  • Tel: +44 (0)207 898 4503
  • Email:
  • Room: 293
  • Academic Support Hours: By appointment online:
Dr Risa Morimoto
Risa Morimoto

Environmental economics, Development economics, Economics of hydropower development, Energy economics, Transport economics,  Economics of sustainable business, Sustainable economic development policy in developing countries, Climate change.

  • Tel: +44 (0)20 7898 4730
  • Email:
  • Room: 274
  • Academic Support Hours: see below

Professor Victor Murinde
Victor Murinde

Mega Trends in Global Finance; Inclusive Finance; Financial Institutions, Markets and Instruments; Financial Modelling & Forecasting

  • Tel: 020 7898 4057
  • Email:
  • Room: 541
  • Academic Support Hours: Friday 9 - 11 or by email appointment
Dr Andrew Newsham
Andrew Newsham

Research: Vulnerability to climate impacts, climate change adaptation and locally held knowledge, the political economy of climate-compatible development, knowing and deciding for conservation and development.

  • Tel: 020 7898 4884
  • Email:
  • Room: 255
  • Academic Support Hours: By appointment:
  • On Sabbatical:Term 3 (2019/20)

Professor Christine Oughton
Christine Oughton

Industrial organisation and policy, innovation, sustainable development and corporate governance, including the governance and regulation of sport

  • Tel: 020 7898 4410
  • Email:
  • Room: 532
  • Academic Support Hours: Monday 2 - 4 or by email appointment
Dr Gregor Semieniuk
Gregor Semieniuk

Growth and distribution; theory of competition; finance and innovation in the energy sector; Bayesian inference

  • Tel: 020 7898 4219
  • Email:
  • Room: 264
  • Academic Support Hours: On leave in academic year 2019/20

Dr Thomas Tanner
Tom Tanner

Research: climate change policy and planning, anticipatory decision-making, urban resilience, policy processes and political economy.

Professor Ulrich Volz
Centre Director
Ulrich Volz

International Finance, Open Economy Macroeconomics, Financial Market Development and Stability, Development and Transition Economics, Global Economic Governance, East Asian Financial Markets

  • Tel: +44(0) 207 898 4721
  • Email:
  • Room: 285
  • Academic Support Hours: tba

Professor Gerhard Kling
Professorial Research Associate
Gerhard Kling

Professor Gerhard Kling holds a Chair in Finance at the University of Aberdeen.

Dr Feja Lesniewska
Feja Lesniewska

Climate change and energy law, sustainable development, ecosystems law and governance (forests, land, water), smart energy technologies, cryptocurrencies and transnational environmental law.

  • Email:
  • Room: 4406
  • Academic Support Hours: Thursdays 14.00-16.00