SOAS University of London

Brunei Gallery, SOAS University of London

SOAS Design a Fan Competition

To all those who took part thank you so much for entering our first ever design a fan competition and for making it such a huge success and so incredibly difficult to judge, the 5 judges had quite a task as the standard of work submitted was very high.

The entries were judged on various criteria which went through a number of rounds some including: idea, subject, originality, technical ability, quality, detail, technique and of course whether they suited the medium of being turned into fan.

The winners were announced at the Annual JRC Tsuda Lecture on 22nd February and they were:
1st Prize:  Valentina Bottari (£250 + a completed fan using the design)
2nd Prize: John Swarbrick (£150 + a completed fan using the design)
3rd Prize: Kyle Whittington (£50 + a completed fan using the design)

As the standards were so high it was decided to give honorary mention as runners up to more than originally planned and these were designs in alphabetical order by: Henty Bulley, Maisy Hatchard, Hannah Peaches and Richard Purvis

The winning designs are at the bottom of the page

The Department of the History of Art & Archaeology and the Japan Research Centre of SOAS invited entries for a fan designing competition. All SOAS students and staff members are eligible and may submit as many entries as they wish. Entries may be in any type of artwork (pen, watercolour, computer-generated image, etc), but as fans are folded, thick pigments are not appropriate. Designs were only considered if they are in the prescribed format, and papers for this were available from in the Brunei Gallery exhibition area, the HAA Dept, or the Brunei Gallery Bookshop, or can be photocopied.

Designs will remain the property of the designer, but a second fan will be made up from each winner and auctioned in aid of the Tôhaku Earthquake Disaster Fund. Additional fans can be ordered by the winners at cost price (approx £50). Finished fans will be available in Term 3.

This competition is generously sponsored by Mr Kanji Ishizumi

The Winning Designs