SOAS University of London

School of Law

Taught LLM programmes

Our LLM programmes are designed for students who already possess an undergraduate law degree and wish to broaden and deepen their legal knowledge at postgraduate level. The LLM programmes may be completed either through one year of full-time study or through two or three years of part-time study. The LLM degrees open up career opportunities in legal practice, NGOs, international organisations, and a host of other private and public bodies. In an increasingly competitive market, a SOAS LLM, with its focus on interdisciplinary study and law in the Global South, will give you a comparative advantage.  Find out more about studying Law at SOAS on the Law pages of the SOAS Blog for the latest news, research spotlights with academics, and interviews with alumni working as law practitioners.


Each LLM student is required to take modules to a total value of 180 credits, consisting of a dissertation (60 credits) and 120 credits of taught modules. Taught modules are worth either 15 credits (one term) or 30 credits (two terms). 

Students who wish to graduate with a specialised LLM are required to take 60 credits worth of modules associated with that specialised LLM. Further modules can be taken within the School of Law and from SOAS Postgraduate Open Options (with the LLM Programme Convenor's permission). The dissertation topic will be undertaken within the LLM specialisation.

Our general and specialised programmes include:

Which specialism?

Are you wondering about the role of law in society? Does it restrain the powerful, does it really help the weak? What are the effects of legal arrangements on the distribution of resources? On racial profiling? On war and peace? On our understanding of ourselves? How does law shape our lives, interests, and perceptions of reality? How does law facilitate or obstruct our goals? Our LLM (Master of Laws) provides the answers.  

What is the relationship between law and gender? How do legal arrangements impact upon the construction of gender identities? How are war, peace and gender related? What can be done to advance women’s human rights? Our LLM Law and Gender helps you answer these questions.

Are you inspired by the extinction rebellion protests and concerned about climate change? Or are you interested in how international law can facilitate development, in the era of globalisation? Our LLM in Environmental Law and Sustainable Development or in Law, Development and Globalisation might be the answer.

Are you inspired by recent revolts against autocratic regimes in Sudan and Algeria? Are you concerned about human rights violations in Myanmar? Are you concerned about stop and search police powers on the London Tube? Are you interested in how communities can be repaired after armed conflict, and how they can hold people accountable for war crimes? Our LLM Human Rights, Conflict and Justice might be the answer.

Are you concerned about Britain's rejection of the International Court of Justice ruling on the Chagos Islands, and Britain's arms sales for Saudi Arabia's war on Yemen? Are you wondering whether law can restrain powerful states like the United States? Our LLM International Law might be the answer.

Are you interested in the interaction between law and religion? Are you wondering about the meaning of Islamic legal precepts and their effect on human rights? Our LLM Islamic Law might be the answer.     

Are you interested in how law relates to the commercial world, and regulation of commerce in the Global South? Do you want to understand how business impacts upon human rights, and how corporations can be held accountable for this? Our LLM International Commercial and Economic Law provides the answer.

Please make sure to visit the web pages for these specialisms so you can choose the programme that suits your needs best.