SOAS University of London


Research in the faculty is based within its constituent departments of Development Studies, Economics, Financial and Management Studies, Law, and Politics and International Studies. The regional focus of research is Asia (including the Middle East), Africa and the developing world. Beyond this research is wide-ranging, pluralistic and often interdisciplinary in focus. Each department has a departmental research panel which manages and co-ordinates its research work. The heads of these, along with departmental research tutors, sit on the Faculty Research Committee which is chaired by Dr Stephen Hopgood, the Associate Dean for Research.

In addition to the departments, there are four faculty-level centres co-ordinating interdisciplinary research: the Asia-Pacific Centre for Social Science, the Centre for Gender Studies, the Centre for International Studies and Diplomacy, the Centre of Taiwan Studies and the Centre for Water and Development. Many members of staff are also members of School-wide centres, and many departments host their own centres:

Faculty staff also edit two SOAS journals, The China Quarterly and Journal of African Law, as well as Central Asian Survey, Journal of Agrarian Change, The Journal of Comparative Law, Journal of Immigration, Asylum and Nationality Law and Law, Environment and Development Journal.

For information about the research of departments please see their departmental research pages:

All externally-funded research activity in the faculty is supported by the Research Office.