SOAS University of London

Caine Prize for African Writing 2018 returns to SOAS for second year

30 January 2018

SOAS University of London’s Centre for African Studies will once again be hosting the prestigious Caine Prize for African Writing award ceremony this year.

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at an award ceremony and dinner at Senate House Library on 2 July 2018. This is the second time in the 19 year history of the prize that the award will be announced in collaboration with SOAS.

The Caine Prize for African Writing recently announced the five judges for the 2018 Prize and Georgetown University’s nomination to the panel, Dinaw Mengestu, will serve as the Chair of judges. An award winning Ethiopian-American novelist and writer, Dinaw is the former Chair in Poetry at the Lannan Foundation at Georgetown. He will be joined by: Henrietta Rose-Innes, South African author and winner of the 2008 Caine Prize; Lola Shoneyin, award winning author and Director of the Ake Arts and Books Festival; Alain Mabanckou, world-renowned writer and Professor of Literature at UCLA; and Ahmed Rajab, a Zanzibar-born international journalist, political analyst and essayist.

The Prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition.