SOAS University of London

Director's Teaching Prize 2010-11

1 August 2011
Lindiwe Dovey

Dr Lindiwe Dovey has won this year's SOAS Director's Teaching Prize.

A senior lecturer in the Department of African Languages and Cultures, Dr Dovey impressed the judging panel with both her support of students and her creative teaching style.

Runners-up for this year's prize were Dr Angus Lockyer, a lecturer in the Department of History, and Dr Kirsty Rowan, a senior teaching fellow in the Department of Linguistics.

The candidates short listed for this year’s prize are as follows:
  • Joel Marie Cabrita (Study of Religions)
  • Lindiwe Dovey (African Studies)
  • Angus Lockyer (History)
  • Kirsty Rowan (Linguistics)
The departmental nominees put forward for consideration by the panel were:
BA Japanese Language, teaching team1st year Japan and Korea
Joel Marie CabritaStudy of Religions
Lindiwe DoveyAfrican Studies
Angus LockyerHistory
Peter MollingaDevelopment Studies
Yousef OmarLanguage Centre
Sham QayyumSchool of Law
Parvathi RamanSociology & Anthropology
Madurika RasaratnamPolitics
Kirsty RowanLinguistics
Listed below are all the individual members of the teaching staff who were initially nominated:
Anthropology and SociologyArt and ArchaeologyHistory
Dr Paru (Parvathi) RamanDr Fiona BuckyDr Teresa Bernheimer
  Dr George Lane
  Dr Angus Lockyer
  Dr Lars Laaman
  Professor Tom McCaskie
  Jack Lord
  Holly Aszkenasy
Study of ReligionsJapan and KoreaAfrican Studies
Theodore ProferesGriseldis KirschYussuf Hamad
Tullio  Lobetti Carli Coetzee
Joel Cabrita Dr Kai Easton
  Dr Kwadwo Osei-Nyame
  Dr Akin Oyètádé
Language CentreLinguisticsNear and Middle East
Yousef OmarDr Peter SellsRabia Bajwa
 Stuart McGillKeya Anjaria
 Candide SimardDr Christopher Lucas
 Kirsty Rowan 
South AsiaDevelopment StudiesEconomics
Dr Whintney CoxCharmaine RamosBahram Pourgobadi
Hannah ThompsonJonathan Di JohnDaniela Tavesci
 Zoe MarriageMustaq Khan
Financial & ManagementLawPolitics
Edward BuckinghamProf Ian ScobbieMadura Rasaratnum
 Sham QayyamHenry Newman
 Dr Makeen F MakeenCharles Tripp
 Prof Werner F MenskiTom Young
 Andrew Huxley 
 Alberto Neidhardt 

For further information, contact:

Mehmet Izbudak -