SOAS University of London

Director’s Teaching Prize – winner announced

13 June 2013
Kevin Manton

Dr Kevin Manton has won this year’s Director’s Teaching Prize 2012-13.

Dr Manton is an EAP Teacher and subject lecturer for International Foundation Courses and English Language Studies (IFCELS). He was commended by the judging panel for the high standard and hard work he has put into his teaching and student support. In particular, the panel was impressed by the strategies he adopted to help students become autonomous learners and develop techniques for critical learning, such as effective note taking methods as well as the use of web-based teaching utilizing BBC podcasts of “A History of the World in 100 Objects” in his World History course.

The runner up was Dr Kirsty Rowan, senior teaching fellow in the Department of Linguistics, who impressed the panel with her sensitivity to learning differences of students, the reflective practice of her teaching methods and the developmental teaching approach to her discipline.

This year’s other finalists were Dr Damian Tobin, lecturer Chinese Business and Management in the Department of Financial and Management Studies, and Dr Ilana Webster-Kogen, Joe Loss postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Music.

Ms Sara Stevano, a doctoral student in the Department of Economics, won the GTA Prize for her work as a graduate teaching assistant. The panel was very impressed with her reflective approach to teaching and her responsiveness to the differing abilities of her students as well as her experimentation in the use of videos in teaching economics.  The panel were also impressed by her receptiveness to student needs and her adaptability in structuring her teaching to those needs.

Paul Webley, SOAS Director, said: “Through the Director’s Prize we recognise staff who deliver excellent and innovative teaching, promote learning by making high intellectual demands on our students and encouraging independent critical thinking, and develop strategies to meet the diverse needs of our students. Congratulations and thanks to our winners.”