SOAS University of London

Department of the Languages and Cultures of the Near and Middle East

Turkish studies at SOAS

Turkish belongs to the Turkic language family and is the largest language in that family. Turkish is the official language of Turkey and a co-official language in Cyprus, spoken by about nineteen per cent of the population. Turkish has no genetic connection with Indo-European languages: it has a completely different but very regular structure.

SOAS has a long tradition of teaching and research in the fields of Turkish and Ottoman studies. While maintaining a focus on Turkish language and literature, the School's degrees in Turkish have been structured in a way that allows the student to benefit from the wide range of research and expertise in Turkish studies not only in the NME Department but also in the Departments of History, Art and Archaeology, Social Anthropology, Study of Religions and Politics. The opportunities and options available accommodate diverse interests and permit specialization and excellent preparation for further study.

Two undergraduate degree programmes are currently offered:

  • BA Turkish (single honours)
  • BA Turkish and another subject (combined honours)

A sequence of less intensive courses in Turkish studies can also be taken as part of the three-year BA Middle Eastern Studies (single honours) and BA Middle Eastern Studies and another subject (combined honours).

In addition, the faculty administers a taught postgraduate programme:

  • MA Turkish Studies

A programme of introductory courses can be taken, leading to the Certificate in Turkish. The department also teaches an "open option" unit, Elementary written Turkish, as a less intensive introductory course for students enrolled on other degree programmes and for non-degree ("occasional") students.