SOAS University of London

South East Asia Section, School of Languages, Cultures & Linguistics


The Department offers the widest coverage in Europe of research and teaching related to the languages, literatures, and cultures of the principal countries of South East Asia, and is the only department of a British university within which these subjects can be studied as part of a named degree.

Its primary commitment is to five languages (Burmese, Indonesian/Malay, Khmer, Thai, and Vietnamese) and their literatures, cinemas and associated cultures. The research and teaching in this Department draw heavily upon the resources of the Library’s extensive South East Asia collection, and are closely connected with the work of many of the School’s other Departments.