SOAS University of London

SOAS South Asia Institute


There are a number of scholarships available to SOAS students who research focuses on South Asia.  These include:

SSAI Scholarships

Charles Wallace Pakistan Trust

One fellowship is awarded annually by the Charles Wallace Pakistan Trust to a Pakistani scholar whose research and career would particularly benefit from the opportunity of spending 3 months at SOAS. The 3 month placement, located within the SSAI, is ordinarily taken up between March and June.

Charles Wallace India Trust

One fellowship is awarded annually by the Charles Wallace India Trust and the SOAS South Asia Institute to an Indian academic who has had no, or little opportunity, to conduct research outside India.  The 3 month placement at SOAS is normally taken up between March and June.

Bishwa Bangla Scholarships at SOAS

Thanks to the generosity of the Government of West Bengal, we are delighted to announce the availability of Bishwa Bangla Scholarships at SOAS for entry in September 2018. There are two Bishwa Bangla scholarships available for masters degree programmes. These scholarships are for applicants who are ordinarily resident in the State of West Bengal, India.
Deadline: 20 February 2019

Noor Inayat Khan Memorial Trust

The Noor Inayat Khan Memorial Trust is a UK trust established in the memory of Noor Inayat Khan, a descendant of the legendary Tipu Sultan and a secret agent in the Second World War. Established to promote the message of peace, non-violence and religious and racial harmony, the Noor Inayat Khan Memorial Trust funds an MA dissertation prize through the SSAI for an outstanding MA dissertation written by a SOAS MA student in the fields of History, Gender Studies and South Asian Studies.

SOAS Scholarships

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

The Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission with funding from UK Department of International Development (DFID), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. There are three Commonwealth Shared Scholarships available at SOAS. 
Deadline: 14 March 2019 

Felix Scholarships

Thanks to the generosity of the Felix Scholarship Trust, a number of Felix Scholarships will be available to Indian nationals with first class degrees to pursue graduate studies at SOAS, University of London. There will be one PhD scholarship for entry in September 2018 and a number of scholarships for Taught Masters programmes for entry in September 2018.
Deadline: 31 January 2019 

External Scholarships

ICCR/Association of Commonwealth Universities

As part of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP), the Government of India offers two scholarships annually to UK citizens wishing to study in India. Candidates must meet the eligibility requirements of the course and institution at which they intend to study and may not take courses in medicine or dentistry. Priority is given to candidates who have not previously studied in India. Click at the title above for more details.

INLAKS scholarships

INLAKS Scholarships provide the opportunity to young people with exceptional talent in any field to broaden their vision abroad and improve their skills to operate in society. The scholarships are of two types: university courses and specific programs. Scholarships are open to all Indian citizens who are resident in India. The Foundation has a joint scholarship schemes with SOAS. Click on the title for more details.

INTACH (Indian National Trust for Arts and Cultural Heritage)

INTACH offers scholarships to UK citizens to enable them to travel to India and to follow in India any course of study of research which is beneficial to either or both countries. Most grants are awarded to professionals in the early stages of their careers, or to students who might wish to study in India.

OFID Scholarship Award for Students from Developing Countries, 2018-19

The OPEC Fund for International Development (OFID) Scholarships will be awarded to four students or candidates who have obtained or are on the verge of completing their undergraduate degree and who wish to study for a Master's degree. The funds will be spread over a maximum of one year, towards the completion of a Master's degree, or its equivalent, at an accredited educational institution, starting in the autumn of the academic year 2018/19. Please visit the link above to see a list of eligible countries and application procedure.