SOAS University of London

Prizewinners of 2010

Congratulations to our 2010 Prizewinners:


Miss Magdalena Cebula


 First Prize: Miss Magdalena Cebula, Tokio Marine Asset Management (London) Limited


Ms Kim Woodruff


Second Prize: Ms Kim Woodruff, Japan Foundation London



Mr Graham Holman


Third Prize: Mr Graham Holman, Sumitomo Corporation Europe Ltd



Mr Jonathan Fisher


Special Prize: Mr Jonathan Fisher, Greenback Alan LLP



And to the other finalists:


Mr Peter Hart


Mr Peter Hart, Valu-Trac Investment Management



Mr Chris Hughes


Mr Chris Hughes, Tazaki Foods Ltd



Mr Ben Morris


Mr Ben Morris, Baker & McKenzie LLP



Mr Raju Thakrar


Mr Raju Thakrar, Freelance Translator



You can watch the recordings of the 2010 prizewinners' and finalists' speeches in our Flash player:


Loading the player...

SPPA 2010 Finalists



 Thank you to everyone who supported this year's 20th Anniversary Speech Contest:


His Excellency Shin Ebihara


Guest of honour: His Excellency Shin Ebihara, the Japanese Ambassador

Sir Graham Fry, KCMG


Guest of honour: Sir Graham Fry KCMG, former UK Ambassador to Japan

Mr Ken Okaniwa


Chair of judges: Mr Ken Okaniwa, Minister, Director, Japan Information and Cultural Centre, Embassy of Japan

Mr David Geen


Special invited guest: Mr David Geen, General counsel, International Swaps and Delivatives Association,Inc -- the very first contest winner in 1990



Dr Christopher Hood


Special invited guest: Dr Christopher Hood, Cardiff Business School, Reader and Director, Cardiff Japanese Studies Centre Cardiff University  -- contest winner in 2000

Mr Takashi Funaki


Mr Takashi Funaki, Director General of JETRO London

Mr Setasuo Kato


Mr Setasuo Kato, Journalist, Interlocutor

Mrs Yoshiko Jones


Mrs Yoshiko Jones, Co-ordinator of the Speech Contest, who has been involved since its inception twenty years ago



The eight finalists
The eight finalists
The finalists, judges and supporters
The finalists, judges and supporters