SOAS University of London

About SOAS

Director's Teaching Prize FAQs

Please direct further questions, queries or suggestions to

What is Director’s Learning and Teaching Prize and why has it's name changed?

The Director’s Teaching Prize was established in order to recognise excellence in learning teaching and the promotion of learning within the School. The School recognises the need to celebrate achievements in the field of innovation in learning and teaching, as well as to acknowledge teaching and teaching-related scholarly and/or creative activities, and the wider activities that make excellent learning and teaching possible. 

From 2020-2021, the name has be changed to add the word 'learning'. This is to better reflect the range of activities that happen to make learning possible.

Who can be nominated?

Any member of SOAS staff that contributed to the student learning experience can be nominated. There are some restritictions in certain categories. The award recognises and rewards members of staff who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching and the provision of support for student learning, be it directly or indirectly.

Who can nominate someone for a Teaching Award?

Any SOAS student or staff member can nominate someone for a Director’s Learning and Teaching Prize. There are some categories that are open only to nominations by students or staff and other that are open to both. See the Director’s Learning and Teaching Prize Criteria and Procedures for more guidance.

How are votes taken?

Votes are taken via our online nomination form.

Who judges the nominations?

The nominations are reviewed the Prize Award Panel who assess them against the cireria. A collective decision is then made as to who the winner might be and a recomendaion is made to the Pro-Director for Teaching and Learning for award. 

Who were the winners last year?

Visit the Director's Learning and Teaching Prize SharePoint page.

What do the winners get and how is the Prize awarded?

Each winner receives a placque inscribed with thier name, the award and category. See last year's online award ceremony.

Whom should I contact if I have more questions?

Please direct further questions, queries or suggestions to