SOAS University of London

About SOAS

Key Dates - Term Dates

The academic year at SOAS consists of three terms, the first two roughly 11 weeks long and the third usually eight weeks in length. The autumn and spring terms include a reading week.

Opening Hours

The School buildings are open from 8.15am to 9.30pm Monday to Friday and 8.15am to 5.00pm on Saturdays (after 1pm for staff and students only). 
The School is closed on Sundays.

The Library ​may be open during School closure days. Please see the Library opening times for more information.

School Terms 2015/2016

First Term

Term Dates: Monday 21 September 2015 – Friday 11 December 2015
Teaching begins: Monday 28 September 2015
Reading Week: Monday 2 – Friday 6 November 2015

Second Term

Term Dates: Monday 4 January 2016 – Friday 18 March 2016
Reading Week: Monday 8 – Friday 12 February 2016

Third Term

Term Dates: Monday 18 April 2016 – Friday 10 June 2016

Examination Period 2015/2016

Examination period: Wednesday 4 May – Tuesday 31 May 2016
Summer re-sits (for eligible Undergraduates only)
Wednesday 24 August – Wednesday 31 August 2016 (Provisional)

Other Important Dates 2015/2016

Graduation: TBC

Dates of Closure 2015/2016*

*The Library will be open during these closure periods. Details of the Library opening times.

The School will be closed from 4.00pm on Wednesday 23 December 2015 and will reopen on
Monday 4 January 2016.
For the period Maundy Thursday to Easter Monday inclusive (24 March 2016 – 28 March 2016)
On the May Day Bank Holiday (Monday 2 May 2016) and the preceding Saturday;
On the Spring Bank Holiday (Monday 30 May 2016) and the preceding Saturday,
On the Late Summer Holiday (Monday 29 August 2016) and the preceding Saturday.

School Terms 2016/2017

First Term

Term Dates: Monday 26 September 2016 – Friday 16 December 2016
Teaching begins: Monday 3 October 2016
Reading Week: Monday 7 – Friday 11 November 2016

Second Term

Term Dates: Monday 9 January 2017 – Friday 24 March 2017
Reading Week: Monday 13 – Friday 17 February 2017

Third Term

Term Dates: Monday 24 April 2017 – Friday 16 June 2017