SOAS University of London

SOAS Library

SOAS Library Opening times

No new membership cards or day passes are issued after 6.55pm Mon-Fri, 5.45pm Sat and all day Sunday. Where self-service hours are indicated there are no Service Desk (Membership, Issue, Enquiry or IT Support desks) available. Self Issue/Return & IT/AV facilities remain available.

Special Collections Reading Room
Open: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 9.00am - 5.00pm
Closed: Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays

Restricted Access to SOAS Library from Tuesday 23rd April - Friday 7th June 2019

We will be restricting access due to heavy demands on Library space and resources during our examination period.

All SOAS students, staff, Alumni and patrons who wish to consult resources in our Archives are not affected by these restrictions. 

External patrons with valid Library cards will be allowed access. We will process new registrations for SCONUL Band A, and UoL Academic staff and Research students.

No Day Passes will be issued during this time if you are unable to produce a valid Library card.

Normal membership services will resume on 8th June 2019.

Library Opening Hours 2019

Term 2 and Easter
Monday, 7 January – Monday 22 April M-F: 9 am – 11:30 pm
Issue Desk closes at 8 pm; Membership Desk closes at 6:55 pm

Sat: 10:30 am – 11:30 pm
Issue and Membership desks close at 5:45 pm

Sun: 10:30 am – 11:30 pm
Self-service

❖ Exception - Thursday 18 April – Monday 22 April (inclusive)

10:30 am – 11:30 pm
Self service

Term 3
Tuesday, 23 April – Friday, 14 June

❖ Exception - Monday, 6 May and Monday 27 May - Self-service
M-F: 9 am – 11:30 pm
Issue Desk closes at 8 pm; Membership Desk closes at 6:55 pm

Sat: 10:30 am – 11:30 pm
Issue and Membership desk close at 5:45 pm

Sun: 10:30 am – 11:30 pm
Self-service

         Summer Hours
Saturday, 15 June - Sunday, 22 September

Exception - Monday, 26 August - Self-service
M-F: 9 am – 9 pm
Issue Desk closes at 5 pm; Membership Desk closes at 4:55 pm

Sat: 10:30 am – 9 pm
Issue and Membership desk close at 5:45 pm

Sun: 10:30 am – 9 pm
Self-service